a directed heart

a glimpse inside

Consider him

Leave a comment

Consider him who endured from sinners such hostility against himself, so that you may not grow weary or fainthearted… “My son, do not regard lightly the discipline of the Lord, nor be weary when reproved by him. For the Lord disciplines the one he loves, and chastises every son whom he receives.” It is for discipline that you have to endure. God is treating you as sons… For our earthly fathers disciplined us for a short time as it seemed best to them, but God disciplines us for our good, that we may share his holiness. For the moment all discipline seems painful rather than pleasant, but later it yields the peaceful fruit of righteousness to those who have been trained by it. (Heb 12:2,5-7, 10-11)

Reading this Scripture jolted my attitude about working today. I arrived at work a little early and spent some time reading at the employee table. I realized my current season of running around, working somewhere I don’t want to work the rest of my life, waiting to get married, and trying to finish college is training me. It’s an endurance race and I’m in it because God loves me and he sees it’s for my good–my good is that I can share in his holiness. Sometimes it really seems painful. It seems painful to go to work knowing I will come home smelling and feeling disgusting, knowing I’ll have to get dirty working in food service. It seems painful to wait another year to be a wife, a role I’ve been looking forward to my whole life. It seems painful spend my next two years in classrooms when I’m ready to have a job and be out in the world now. It seems painful to financially survive as a married couple the first few years. These disciplines seem painful because my eyes aren’t on the true prize… they’re on fake earthly prizes like comfort, rest, independence, worth, money, and marriage. None of those things are bad until they take the place of my true prize, Jesus Christ. The prize is being made more like Jesus. The prize is eternal life with my King. All these tough circumstances and jobs are good because they’re training me to look at Jesus for my comfort, my rest, my worth, and my marriage.

So all that to say, reading the above Scripture today gave me renewed vision at work and in this period of waiting. I’m trying to soak up this season and be serious about this training that I’m enduring. For this is the will of God, your sanctification (1 Thess 4:3).

Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race set before us, looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God (heb 12:1-2).

 

Tell me what you think!

