a directed heart

a glimpse inside

Back to Baking Basics for Break

1 Comment

Well, break is finally here and I’ve already made a list of some things I’d like to accomplish:

1. Read a alot.
2. Bake
3. Cook
4. Craft

That list isn’t exhaustive and there are plenty more details to go under each activity, but I’ll save those for another rainy day.

I got warmed up today by baking my favorite chocolate chip cookies. I got this recipe from an old friend’s grandma. It’s pretty standard, but has a teensy variation that makes them extra scrumptious. Maybe it’s the shortening?

Anyway, I thought I’d get fancy and take some pictures while I cooked to post, as if this recipe is actually something revolutionary.

Like any good cookies, you separate the dry ingredients (Flour, Baking Soda and Salt) in a small bowl, and mix the White and Brown Sugar, Butter, and Shortening together in a larger bowl. It’s important to mix the sugar and butter really well before adding any other ingredients because it’s hard to get them to mix afterwards. You don’t want clumpy cookies!

After mixing the sugar, butter, and shortening, I added the vanilla, water, and eggs. Once that was well mixed, I slowly stirred in the dry mixture and then added chocolate chips!

Pop these suckers in the oven at 375 for about 10 minutes and you get delicious Chocolate Chip Cookies!!

Here’s the recipe:

2-1/4  c. Flour
1/2  tsp. Baking Soda
1/2  tsp. Salt

1/2  stick Butter
1/2  c. Shortening
3/4  c. White Sugar
3/4  c. Brown Sugar
1/2  tsp. Vanilla
1/2  tsp. Water
2  Eggs
Chocolate Chips

Bake at 375 for 8-10 minutes and enjoy!

 

One thought on “Back to Baking Basics for Break

  1. these look so good! and your to do list looks a lot like mine :) send some cookies my way!! love you! Merry Christmas!

Tell me what you think!

