a directed heart

a glimpse inside

gardens

Leave a comment

One day I’d like to have a garden of my own to grow vegetables.

I’ve been reading The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett and it inspired me today. I began imagining what it would be like to work in my own garden. How wonderful it would be to cultivate a garden and grow up food to feed my  family! Rather than going to the grocery store to pick up potatoes, green beans, tomatoes, etc… I could step off my porch to gather them instead. That thought brings great joy to my heart, and I can’t wait until I can start that garden! I think that joy is one that stems from the Father. He must find joy in providing for his children in various ways, much like the process of cultivating a garden. He cultivates opportunities for us that seem to come out of nowhere, but after close examination you can trace the string of events that leads up to that opportunity. Like a seed planted in the earth–you can’t tell that there’s any growth beneath the surface until the plant finally breaks the soil–God cultivates what we call “opportunities” or “opened doors.”

I’d like to have a garden one day.

Tell me what you think!

